top of page
  • Writer's pictureTaraAlice

My FULL UCAS Application for Medicine


Hey everyone!


In this post you’ll find all documents and what not relating to my UCAS application for Medicine (and my 5th choice which was a biomedical degree at Kings College London - KCL for short). Click here to see how I got into KCL.


If you’re a little confused about this post, its about applying to medical schools in the UK through UCAS - UCAS is the system used to apply to most universities in the UK...I think haha


I have marked out some information for privacy and safety reasons.


I apologise for everything not being in order! haha


Here you’ll find my: GCSE results, A-level results, two reference letters, job shadowing/work experience letters, certificates and my (really awful) personal statement. In my defence the word limit for the personal statement was so short and I had so much to say ( I’m TERRIBLE at sticking to word limits.). So basically my essay was complete💩


I hope this helps to give you an idea of what a medicine/biomedical degree application looks like.


I successfully got into KCL, I did not get into any British medical schools (I’m from South Africa btw, so I was applying as an international student).

But I did get into my dream medical school in another country :) I’ll have a blog post up on that soon, explaining where I’m going and how I got into medical school.


If you would like to see a blog post on what the interview was like for the British medical schools then let me know in the comments! xx


Oh and I should add: I homeschooled myself through my A-levels and GCSEs, and I had a tutour for A-level chemistry. I also completed A-level chemistry in 1 year because I only realised midway through my A-levels that I wanted to study medicine, and chemistry is a requirement for medicine, so that's why I tortured myself by learning chemistry from scratch all in 1 year!

My 💩personal statement

If you want to see the other version of my personal statement which is much better than this, let me know! I used it to apply to medical schools outside of the UK.



My first reference letter
My second reference letter


A-level results


GCSE results

More GCSE results


My one AS-level result

GCSE English achievement award

GCSE History achievement award

Figure-skating certificate

First Aid Certification

A letter from the Doctor about my disability. I cut everything else out for privacy reasons.

Job shadowing/Work experience at a Private hospital

Job shadowing/Work experience at the Radiology department


Job shadowing/Work experience at a Private hospital

Job shadowing/Work experience at a Government hospital

Job shadowing/Work at the Physiotherapy department


Job shadowing/Work experience at a Government hospital


0 comments
bottom of page